• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

ORC Handguards question

AZshootin

Hi folks,

Please pardon me if I make any mistakes, I'm very new to the .308 and to this board.

The rifle I bought is this:

http://www.bushmaster.com/catalog-308ORC.asp

I'm wanting to change out the hand guards over to a free floating rail system and I am having a heck of a time finding what will work as well as what ill need.

Two major questions I have are:

-Will I need to change the gas block on the front?

-Will I need to change the gas tube as well?

It seems like there is some confusion on the upper height for the Bushmaster ORC. Ive done some reading and I've managed to confuse myself even more. Can anyone tell me what I'm looking for when shopping around for a rail system that will line up? Will anything mid length DPSM fit if I change the gas block?

Thanks in advance for any info and my apologies if this has been covered before or if there was a guide I missed.

Hey AZ,

The BM 308 ORC has a mid-length gas system. (BM is now owned by DPMS, you can look for DPMS parts)

Really the first question is what length of Free Float Rail are you planning on getting. Do you want to cover the gas block? Put a cap on the end of the rail? or just leave it open? Its possible that the ground down FSB may fit inside a rail, but I have not tried or measured it either. Regardless, the placement of the gas block and the gas tube will remain the same, you just need to ensure the rail will go over the gas block or FSB. look at both MidwayUSA, and Brownells. Both companies have large inventories and are reasonably priced.

Let me know how I can help,

Jeff

Fill me in on what you would like as an end result and I can get you pointed in the right direction.

Replacing the FSB and gas block is not a difficult task if that will give you the result you are looking for.

When looking for your rail

Hi Jeff,