• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Help needed any advice will help

Dre22

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting on this forum, and I'm not to sure if this is the correct thread to ask this, but it seemed fit. I just built a DPMS AR-10 and the first time I took it out I was shooting extremely inconsistent groups, and when I say inconsistent I mean 10" groups at 100 yards. So I tried a whole range of ammo which didn't seem to help at all. Next I tried torquing down the barrel nut to 50'lb and that tightened the group to about 6". But no luck in improving beyond that. The barrel is a brownell barrel, I know its not a very high quality barrel but I feel like it should perform better than this. And my scope is vortex PST gen 2 5×25. I have yet to try mounting g the scope to another rifle to check and see if it's the scope, so that's still on the list. If anyone can give me some advice on how to fix it I would appreciate it very much.

Edited by Dre22

Welcome! I'll start with the word police thing, you do not have an AR-10, AR-10 denotes an Armalite rifle, you have a 308AR, LR-308, DPMS pattern rifle. Seems trivial but when buying parts it can matter. 

What brand receivers? How is the barrel fit in the upper, tight, loose? I assume the headspace checked out? Check the usual suspects, loose mounting of the optic, condition of the barrel crown. Inspect an unfired round, after it has been fed, for any damage to the bullet. I'm sure others will be along shortly with more questions or answers.

Welcome aboard -- you've come to the right place.

First thing we're going to need is a parts list -- every part you put into the rifle. If you bought an upper or lower complete, be sure to mention who built it.