• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

308 vs 223 builds

Belt Fed

I am no gun expert by any means and i have never built one, with that being said i have had a few of mine completely apart and put back together with no problems. but all mine are same manufactured upper and lowers. factory guns.

My question is why are the large frame 10's so much harder getting to function than their small frame counterparts? Is it cause there are a couple designs of 308's that don't match with different uppers or is it way different specs on parts?

I still hear of 223 builds that don't work but nothing like the larger framed guns. Now i'm just talkin build guns not the factory ones.  I know here i have seen numerous threads started on having trouble with the 10 and OP says they have built 223's before with no problem. Is all 15 parts compatible with each other?

Just thinkin out loud here. I have read all the advice and threads on correcting them and have a good idea why they don't work as well, but do the 223's have these same problems. i hear PSA in 223 works fine but their 308's don't without  knowledge on what parts to buy.

I have had only one 308 that wouldn't work right and i still have it and just never done nothing with it to make it work. But i see an awful lot of 308 builds that don't function for some reason and wondered if it's just mainly being educated on the platform and what parts that make it work.

Edited by Belt Fed