• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

M5 308 build list under $1200

MikeMarine

It's probably do-able but I wasn't that lucky/patient parts shopping.

There are some pretty good prices at some places for Ballistic Advantage barrels when they pop up in stock.  Granite Ridge Outfitters and Right To Bear for example.  I've also seen em listed at Moriarti Armaments, Rainier Arms, and Primary Arms.  Granite Ridge has a "MOA" discount code and Right To Bear seems to offer free shipping on the whole order with at least some Ballistic Advantage barrels (maybe all? not sure).

I am a noob with 308 AR's though, no connections and not a lot of experience with many of the vendors either.  So I'm learning my way around aside from the ones I've been buying other stuff from.

Not sure what you are looking to build but these are a couple things that *might* be of interest:

KAK Industry has KAK-branded UTG Pro Super-Slim 15" (14.65") octagon shaped (and full pic rail on top) M-LOK handguards from KAK industry for $185. (SKU MTU026SSMB-KAK) You might be able to find a UTG MTU026SSMB cheaper elsewhere, they list on Leapers site for $139 and they have a list of dealers, but KAK had (and still HAS) these in stock.  Couldn't find one in stock anywhere else on Leapers' list of dealers but you might have better luck, this was a few weeks ago.  Seems like a good solid rail and it is definitely slim.  Will use this on the 18" barrel build in the hopper. 

Another handguard that seemed nice and wasn't as expensive as SLR 308 handguards are the Samson SXS Lightweight, you might like that.  They have another series that are in the $185 range also (SXS 762 series), pretty similar to the UTG.

https://www.samson-mfg.com/308-ar10.html