• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

My First 308 Build - Lessons Learned

JoeDirt

Hello gang,

Thought I would share my lessons learned from my first 308 build.  I have to give 100% credit to this forum for making all my mistakes come to relatively happy repairs / changes.  YOU GUYS ARE TRULY AWESOME.  Remember, a lot of this I found from your site, was found AFTER being well under way to making mistakes.  Like a lot of us learn the phrase "I don't know what I don't know"

So truth be told, I am an Engineer of many years, and am fortunate to believe in SOPWAMTOS, so the pole barn over the years has become nothing short of an antiquated but fully functional machine shop.  I love the journey / process of building as much as the feeling of sending lead down range at sub MOA.

Part #1 - The 80% lower

Aw heck it can't be any harder than an AR-15 lower right...Boy did I learn the fun there!  You have to scour the web, and do your homework, and look closely, as some of the models and drawings out there just plain don't add up!  - nothing like the AR-15 drawings and CAD models floating around!!! - You guys knew that! - I looked, listened, and learned,

I made the jig, no different in design intent from an AR-15 lower.  Sound approach, until I got a little cocky and over cut the front of the FCG well and broke out into the mag release spring pocket.  My OCD is not happy with me, but my head says a 100 rounds later, it is still fine...Note to self, do the math and watch the dims from that mag release centerline to the front of the FCG pocket.  You need that meat there.  Turns out my model, was a good .157 too far forward.  Rev B on those prints and models for the jig!

image.png.e0dfda41b284d11250f9f6da0c49d639.pngimage.thumb.png.9a141cf20db85e04ea8d7cf9f7d1bdf8.png

Part #2 Building the lower out