• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

.308 Upper/Bolt Group?

Glockslap

I don't like the idea of recontouring anything... Well I actually like the idea, but I don't quite trust it. I believe that every barrel manufacturer flutes and contours their barrels PRIOR to rifling for a reason...

16" DPMS Lightweight $249.95

16" DPMS AP4 $229.99

16" SI Defense M4 $199.00

You can get a forged DPMS upper for $184.95 and a BCG for about $210-$250 (when they are in stock).

I'm no expert on the process of carving bores, but contouring should be done PRIOR to heat treat.

Contouring an already drilled barrel is doable without any harm to the bore of the gun, but in many cases, it will be wise to re-treat the barrel.

However, doing it SAFELY after the barrel has already been heat treated is going to be a nightmare. I'm guessing that's the main reason manufactures do it as early on as they do. You've got a huge jump in time and a dramatic amount of wear on your milling bits that is going to hike up the price. Doesn't make much sense when you can save hundreds per barrel by doing the exact same thing in a different order.

Recontouring barrels is one thing that I'v seen a lot of in my  general gunsmithing days.

The only "safe" way is to make "small" cuts .030-.040 total at a time, and the lathe run in its slowest back gear( 60-80 rpm)

Yes, I know a lot have done it with bigger cuts, and faster feeds, I'v also seen a lot of bent bbls, and "un-screwed"  bbls. unscrewed meaning you could look down the bore and actually SEE the variation of the rifling.

Flame me if you will,,but that's been my experience, especially the lighter the contour.  The lighter the contour, the easier it is to screw up.

And, yes!  The bbl defiantly should be reheat treated after re-profiling.

Respectfully

Terry