• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Mega Machine .308 receiver questions

6500rpm

Just about ready to drop the hammer on an AR in .308 and wanted to know the overall impressions on the Mega Machine upper/lower sets. Have they shown to be a proven design and consistant quality? Any known pitfalls?

Are there proven carrier, barrel, or buffer manufacturers that work well with with the Mega brand? Last would apply the same questions to their monolithic design upper.

Thanks for taking the time for input, first post and limited experience with AR's at this point, but I've built many AK's and other weapons, high end mechanic by trade and tinkerer by design. Lurked and read for some time and now it's time to ask questions and commit.

Mark

First off, welcome to the forums Mark!

To answer your question, there are several here who have built of of Mega's matched receivers, and I have yet to see a complaint with regard to quality or performance. I personally have built off the matched monolithic receiver set and my rifle performs flawlessly so I will give you a rundown of how it is currently configured.

MA Ten Monolithic Receiver Set - Rifle Length

AR10 Buffer Tube

Chrome Silicon buffer spring and standard buffer

Fulton Armory Titan Lower Parts Kit

Young Manufacturing chromed 308 bolt carrier

Fulton Armory Titan Bolt

FA Titan Barrel, 18.5"SS threaded 1:10 twist

FA Titan Gas system

Bennie Cooley small profile muzzle brake from JP Rifles

Combat Arms Accessories UPG-16 hand grip

ATC SR Gold trigger

Magpul PRS stock

Harris S Series bipod

Larue QD bipod mount

SWFA 30mm scope mount

10-40x50 scope

5-Shot Group:

17coxw.jpg

The Beast Itself:

[img width=810 height=607]http://i43.tinypic.com/10ngxs3.jpg