• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Build from scratch or purchase complete

orbela

I am a amateur this is my first AR, I own a shotgun for hunting and I am going to use this AR for hunting big(Deer, Hogs,and Bears). My question is should I build a AR-10 from scratch or do I buy a build AR. I am looking toward DMPS Panther's LR308(Bullet Button) or a 26' RRA Varmint 308. I am trying to get best accuracy that is the reason I want to build my own so I can customize the weapon, but I don't know if it will be too difficult to work on the gun. My budget is between 1k-2.5k a weapon this light and have good stopping power. Can anybody help me in this predicament?

I'd say that you could easily put one together, or buy one, for under $2500, but not sure about including the suppressor in that price as they're usually up near $1000 alone for a good one. by the way, don't know if your in good shape, but if I'm reading your post correctly, I think your talking about a long, heavy gun for hunting if your planning to run a suppressor on a gun with a 24" barrel.  As far as building vs buying, most here agree that you can't build one cheaper than you can buy, unless you do some serious bargain hunting for parts on the forums, but you can put one together in a configuration that isn't comercially available, such as a certain handguard or barrel. Something else to consider, You'll be able to get lots of good advice on this forum on building one, but you need to be honest with yourself about your mechanical abillity. Do YOU think you can put one together?

If you are unsure about your skills in building, I suggest you buy a completed upper, and build the lower yourself. The upper is the only part that requires all the "special" tools. Just find a builder who will make the contour/design you like the best. Addax and LOKI Weapon Systems are a good affordable start.