• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Issues with Aero Precision build

kayjaygee_13

Hey there!

I am going to preface this by saying that I am completely new to this, so please bear with me if I need more clarification on some of the terms and phrases that you guys use. Being a novice, I decided to go with the following components made by Aero Precision and figured hopefully I knew enough to put together a functional .308 rifle:

- M5 Complete Lower Receiver w/ MOE® Grip & Fixed Rifle Stock (https://www.aeroprecisionusa.com/m5-complete-lower-receiver-moe-grip-fixed-rifle-stock)
- M5E1 Enhanced 20" .308 CMV Complete Upper Receiver (https://www.aeroprecisionusa.com/m5e1-308-20in-cmv-complete-upper)
- .308 / 7.62 Bolt Carrier Group, Complete - Phosphate (https://www.aeroprecisionusa.com/308-bolt-carrier-group-phosphate)
- AR 308 Charging Handle (https://www.aeroprecisionusa.com/ar308-charging-handle)
- Magpul PMAG® 20-round Non-Window M3 LR-308 - Black (https://www.aeroprecisionusa.com/magpul-pmag-20-round-308-black)

It turned out I was wrong. I first tested the rifle with 150 grain Remington UMC 308 Win ammunition and fired 17 rounds and every spent casing failed to eject. I ran several tests with just a single round in the magazine and each and every time, the BCG failed to eject the spent casing and failed to lock back on the empty magazine. When the gun was tested with a few rounds loaded in the magazine, it failed to eject the spent casing and it had to be done manually via the charging handle. In fact, the last time I fired the gun with a single Remington round in the magazine, the spent casing was stuck in there so tightly that I had to use the "mortaring" tip I found on YouTube and I had to slam the stock to clear it.