• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

DO NOT BUY F1 FIREARMS UPPERS

Nocturnalham

Started building an AR10 chambered in 6.5 creedmoor. Ordered a barrel from BSF and the upper, lower and handguard from f1. The feed ramps on the upper are too short and the ramps on the barrel protruded past them by about 1/16 inch. I'm new at this so I went to several gun smiths who didn't know how to help me until the last one told me the feed ramps on the f1 upper were out of spec. I contacted f1 about it and they played dumb and told me that it should not be an issue. So I finally built the dang thing and did a cycling check with the charging handle. No feeding problems occurred but there are some scratches on the bullets. The rounds go straight up the barrel extension and don't even touch the upper feed ramps. Not a huge problem, but still annoying. I called BSF to get their two cents and they said that they have seen this before from f1. Apparently f1 has an ar10 problem. BSF has told them that their poop is out of spec but they just haven't gotten around to fixing it. Like I said, it's not a big deal, but it just grinds my gears that a well known company like f1 has not only sent me a defective product, but has also refused to admit that their measurements were wrong. DONT BUY 308 UPPERS FROM F1 FIREARMS! THIS KIND OF NEGLIGENCE IS UNACCEPTABLE!

Also, will scratches on the bullets affect accuracy?

Cycling live rounds into the chamber, only to be hand-ejected, is always gonna scratch them - the ejector is pushing them right, into the barrel extension lugs, upon extraction.

What distance you shoot to is when it might show an accuracy issue.  The longer you take it, the more it might affect it. No way to know without pics of what you're talking about here.