• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

First Build - Tell me what I'm doing wrong

mchljrdn

Hello,

I'm getting ready to order parts for my first AR-10 build.  I've done my share on the 15 platform but I'm a newbie on this one.  Let me know if you spot any problems or areas where there's a better choice.  

Receiver

Live Free Arms Set $189

Hand Guard

AERO PRECISION M5  $167

Stock

Battlelink Minimalist $50

Lower Receiver Kit

M5 308 Enhanced $90

Gas Block - Rifle

Seekins Adj Low Profile $56

BCG

Wilson Combat BCG $299

Trigger

Probably Timney, Geissele, or JP

Barrel

14 minutes ago, mchljrdn said:

BCG

Wilson Combat BCG $299

Trigger

Probably Timney, Geissele, or JP

Barrel

Just look to Toolcraft for a nitride BCG, maybe Brownells as well, good quality at a great price. Turn around and go to Wilson Combat for a barrel. LaRue MBT triggers are the schit, best AR trigger for the money out there.

3 hours ago, mchljrdn said:

Hello,

I'm getting ready to order parts for my first AR-10 build.  I've done my share on the 15 platform but I'm a newbie on this one.  Let me know if you spot any problems or areas where there's a better choice.  

Receiver

Live Free Arms Set $189

Hand Guard

AERO PRECISION M5  $167

Live Free Armory is DPMS-Low based.  Aero Presision is DPMS-High based.  The handguard rails and the upper receiver rails won't be on the same plane.  Options  - find a handguard for DPMS-Low profile, or get Aero M5 receivers.

If you're set on the Live Free set - get the set in hand, and measure yourself, always verify...  Get a handguard later, after the receiver set comes in...

1 minute ago, mchljrdn said:

Thanks - hadn't seen Toolcraft before.

ToolCraft makes the bulk of the BCGs for most those companies "that have their own BCGs," as well as the bulk of the BCGs for OEM full-rifle "manufacturers."  It's ToolCraft.  They make Brownell's BCGs, as well.