• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New AR10 build

Mike8623

OK folks Im new to the forum and my head is just spinning right with questions and new knowledge. I am new to ar's and this is my first trip into the realm.

I have an ar10 308 lower that I machined and put together. I also have a 308 complete upper I just bought for it and have it all put together. So it is complete

My mind has started wondering and I love big bore. so Im thinking (wondering) about a 500 auto max on my current ar10 lower. The 500am folks only sell whole guns and I dont have the money for one......but I do like to tinker and have the all the equipment I need for gun work, even a barreling boring and rifling machine. I am on a tight budget and have to save for everything I buy......however I am rich in the Lord and he does provide!!

Here is what I am thinking..... since the 50 beo round is almost the same as the 50am except for the rim diam. what about a 50 beo upper minus the bolt....then purchase a big bore bolt or BCG for the 50 beo upper something like a 450 Marlin or 50 Phantom etc. etc. one that will except the 50 am and replace it on the 50 beo upper then install the upper on my current ar10. Am I all wet here or can we proceed, if so in the opinion of you folks, any ideas on low priced large diameter bolts that will acommodate the 50am or ideas on this endeavor?

so jump right but try not to be too discouraging if your inclined to head that direction.

This round is nothing more than a 500 S&W Magnum, according to the manufacturer website.  You'll need to find a large frame AR bolt that shares the same base circle as 500 S&W Magnum.  And, there really isn't one.  The only other cartridge that shares that base circle is the 338 Marlin Express.

Yep, my head was just swirling yesterday and is still swirling today.......thinking and trying to find info.