• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Case tumbling with brasso cleaner media mixed ??

KS Shooter

Guys,

some background information.  I have been reloading a variety of ammunition for the past 20+ years, and have done considerable tumbling of cases.  Up until now I have never added any brasso to the media to shine the brass.  what I do as part of the cleaning process is to boil vinegar/water mix (2/3 vinegar to 1/3 water) and then pore that over the brass.  I then add a little dishwashing detergent and then some bakingsoda.  I let this set for about 10 minutes and then wash in warm water, drain water, and then blow dry before tumbling.  I will do this several times through the reloading process. 

I experimented with some 9mm brass that I tumbled in the corn cob media/brasso mix for a few hours.  They came out nice and shiny.  The question is??

Is there a problem doing this?  The internet is alive with people saying do not do this but others state that they have been doing it for years without any problem.

I make match loads for my lr308 and future 308's so I don't want a problem.  However, I have plenty of brass. 

Any comments are welcome.

thanks

KS Shooter

I think Brasso contains ammonia, I wouldn't use it to polish MY brass. I use a commercial product called Bon-Ammi. Yuo should be able to find it in the grocery store with the other cleansers like Comet. Bon-Ami contains nothing but a very mild abrasive. I add some to my corn cob when I want to clean fast. I've been using it for many years with no problems.