• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Emergency Kit

ces777

In light of the recent hurricane out East I feel compelled to give my two cents on an emergency/bug in-bug out kit that everybody should have.  It isn't a perfect list and never will be as each situation/person may demand a different set up.  However, I hope this will at least give some folks ideas on what to have at the ready for natural or man made disasters. There are some redundant items because this is a list based on how I pack items and some things I want redundant in different packs for convenience/special use i.e. candles, wipes, space blankets, tools. 

I know this is a site about guns - but I hope this message can ride here and help somebody in the present or future!

In my past life, I've been an EMT-B and a National Ski Patrol (NSP) Alpine Patroller.  You can't imagine how badly people wreck themselves in a ski slope.  Broken (upper) back was the worst I've ever encountered, and transported off a hill.  Fucking nightmare, not killing the guy in the transport process, to the bottom of the hill, and turning him over to the ambulance-smashers.  :o

Your emergency kit depends on your skills and training, and your expectations, and your capabilities, and your knowledge, and your will power.  Nothing is certain.

Your emergency kit depends on your skills and training, and your expectations, and your capabilities, and your knowledge, and your will power.  Nothing is certain.

Dude...I am NOT carrying around a fuckin' field pack on top of all my other gear!  <laughs>

My first aid philosophy goes hand-in-hand with my rations philosophy:  if the Boy Scout Handbook covers doing it in the wild with minimalist provisions, I don't need to hump it.  Don't believe me?  Look at my gut.  <lmao>