• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

cycling problems

deermill

I had a Mega maten .308 ar built. And it is not cycling every round, the bolt is not locking back when the mag is empty, when you lock it back by hand then bump the gun, the bolt goes home. this gun would be considered a carbine because it has a collapsable stock. what should the length of the buffer and buffer spring be? And also when the shell is ejected, there is a dent in the neck of the casing. The barrel is a DPMS 18" 762x51, and I am using Magpul Magazines.

as far as I know it is a DPMS. I am just learning about the ar and the guy won't admit to any mistakes. this was the first .308 that he built. He has only built the ar15. I called Mega Arms, and they told me that he put the wrong buffer and buffer spring in it, but what else could he have put in there that don't belong?

The bolt catch, buffer, spring, could all be suspect. Armalite bolt catches are beefier than the DPMS catches (he could have put an ar15 catch in which is also smaller). Armalite springs are the best ones going for any 308ar, I have several. A great ( no understatement) buffer is one by our site sponsor Clint at Heavybuffers.com. I only run his buffers in my ar's, and they never fail, reduce recoil, and are superbly machined. Here's a link to a thread I started regarding them for some info for you, I hope this all helps.

http://308ar.com/forum/heavy-buffers/don't-think-there's-a-difference/

Hi  Deer      magpul mags should be no problem...they work great....look to the buffer spring and buffer both should be car length in 308....get the dpms bolt cathc and put that in,but first look at the buffer spring/buffer......he could have put an 15 spring and buffer in there?  locking back is the first function check on these ar's.....its gotta lockback....and bumping causes bolt into battery ....yikes  :)Wash