• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Buffer, Spring, Tube set up will this work???

AR-Ghost

I'm new to the 308 world and I'm building my first 308AR. I think I've gone through and picked out some great parts but I'm still just a bit confused on the whole buffer set up! Here's what I'm working with SI Defense gen 4 receiver set, Rainier arms 20" S.S. match grade barrel, RA NiB BCG, Troy LP gas block (rifle length) magpul PRS, A2 buffer tube, tubb CS flat wire spring, and a Spikes tactical ST-T2 carbine buffer which weighs 4.3 Oz! I've ordered most of the parts but I didn't want to waste the time or money on the buffer assembly if it's not going to work! Any input would be greatly appreciated thanks.

Blue is right. All your parts sound great, you just have to change to a rifle length buffer instead of the carbine length.

Technically you want an A1 buffer tube, although most people don't know the difference between an A1 and an A2.

If you get an A2, you'll need a spacer to fill a gap between the PRS stock and the tube. Most A2 tubes come with those spacers.

Ok thanks so I need a rifle buffer not a car. And the A1 and A2 tubes are the ame the A2 just comes with a spacer which isn't needed for the PRS I'm planning on using. Now the heavy buffers are right around a 100 which is only 30 more between the buffer and spring I was planning on. Should I go wih the standard AR-10 spring in the kit or any one had good results with the tubb cs flat wire springs?

I guess one more question! So is the buffer supposed to bottom out in the tube is that why you can't use a car buffer in rifle tubes? I guess I was under the impression the spring caught the buffer that's why I was originally thinking it was the weight was the main thing to worry about not the length.