• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Back in the game

Hey Fellas, nice to see a cozy corner of the interenet dedicatd to the AR-10...  I bought a Ar-10 back in 94 I believe, making it a Ar10B.. as I remeber the issue with the metal magazines....  I ended up making the rifle less reliable by installing a Jewel trigger and then getting a bunch of failure to fire with surplus ammo..( light primer strikes)

I'm a noob to the whole shooting stuff, but when I find something that interests me I go full in... Well, shorlty after buying the AR10, I bought my Arsenal and Eagle arms Ar15 before the California nonsense kicked in and they took my interest away among other things. (drag racing)

Fast forward to now living in AZ. and getting back into the gun world I started building some 5.45 Ar 15s...And remembered the AR10 that is in the back of the safe with no attention given to it...

So I pulled it out, and find on Armalite's website that there is a "upgrade" for it...  being that I now know a lil more than I used to back in the day (after build 5 AR15's from scratch)... I was wondering how needed was this upgrade and, if so, if I should just buy the parts and swap them out myself..  best way to get to know the rifle!!..

Anyway thanks for having me, sorry for the noob questions and long story..

Have you checkd the Armalite website tech papers? I would guess they probably have a write up on the modifications. You might also leave mrraley a message. He used to work for Armalite, he knows them well.

Ps Welcome to the forum.

Thanks for the warm welcome!!!  looking forward to learn and maybe even help someone out!

I did find the "upgrade" page for the 10Bs... But am not fully sure how "needed" or beneficial the upgrade is

When i get home tonight I will try and take some pics... Its a flatop, and heavy If i recall...lol..