• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New to the AR 10 platform

Jjgibbs37

ive always been an ak guy. Recently purchased my first ar10 and I love it. Just have 2 questions if anyone could help. First , how do I remove the front sight that stick up in the air so I can equip a scope? Would love to keep the flip up iron sights and use scope of that is an option also.

Second, what measurement should I take and where is a good place to look for a free float quad rail? I want to make sure I buy the right stuff.

I have a bushmaster BR-308

I would really love to trick this thing out I'm just unsure about how to proceed. As it's obvious unlike ak's I can't just buy stuff and make it work or so it seems so far.

I've got a 1-6x scope, it will cowitness with the BUIS's at 1x and starts to disappear much past 2x. I leave the front sight on my AR-10 with a 3x-10x scope and never see it.

Unforgiven is right, the 4th is a great time to drop some coin on parts, have fun!

Edited by jtallen83

First thing you should know is you don't have an AR 10. This seems trivial to most, but we correct that here because it is incorrect and will cause you a great many headaches being new. You have a 308ar. AR10 is the designation for the Armalite brand rifle which has proprietary parts which will not work with some of your parts. Other parts are interchangeable, but we can get to that after.

First , how do I remove the front sight that stick up in the air so I can equip a scope? Would love to keep the flip up iron sights and use scope of that is an option also.

So do you have a pinned front sight post, or flip up BUIS style? I'm confused with your question here.

• 5 years later...

I just found this site this evening.  Not sure if I am in the right spot to start off with; but, when I did a search on BR-308 I found some posts.