• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Compatibility of Uppers and Lowers

Vandebrake

Hi everyone, im new to the building an AR world, but I've owned quite a few along with AKs. So my question today is, I'm looking at an (Aero Precision .308 M5 Complete Lower Receiver) and an CMMG Mk3 CBR Complete Upper Assembly .308 Win 16".

As far as I can tell theyre both set up to DPMS, which im pretty sure they should both be compatible. can someone take a lok and tell me if this is a do-able set up?

Thanks in advance.

V

if you need more detail these are the websites im loking at getting them from

Upper: http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/product/2-CMMG38BEA94

Lower: http://www.surplusammo.com/aero-precision-308-m5-complete-lower-receiver-with-magpul-acs-stock-dpms-cut/

I've heard CMMG doesn't play well with others.  Why not get a matched Aero upper?  Aero's 16" SS barrel upper with 13" keymod rail is around $600 i think?  I got mine on sale for $530.  Not sure if that CMMG one you linked comes with a BCG and CH.  If it doesn't, it's not a great deal.  If it does, it's just average price.  You can get better parts piecing it together for around the same price. .  I have right at $950 in my upper with a Gunfighter charging handle, Cryptic Coatings BCG (which is amazing) and a VG Precision Gamma muzzle brake.  

If you get on Aero's mailing list, they have sales on all the parts pretty often it seems.  I just finished an Aero M5 build and it runs perfectly.  

Edited by Spartan

the other question I have, what is a good magazine to use? P-Mag seems to be a popular choice, do any of you have experience with these mags in Aero products?

Pmag LR20s, Lancer L7s, and DPMS 19-rounders run well through mine.

• 3 weeks later...