• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Modifications for beginners.

Good evening,

I am new to the semi-automatic rifle platform and looking for pointers. After about a year of online research, I settled on the DPMS G2 SASS .308/7.62. I've had the opportunity to put 20 rounds through it at the range. I appreciate the feel of it and would like to make the right modifications to make it efficient & increase it's accuracy. After digging through multiple forums and sites I have become more confused about what modifications can actually do that. So my question, is there a forum or thread designed for beginners that gives a starting point or suggestions on where to start making modifications?

Thank you for any links or advice,

2 minutes ago, SRanger said:

Good evening,

I am new to the semi-automatic rifle platform and looking for pointers. After about a year of online research, I settled on the DPMS G2 SASS .308/7.62. I've had the opportunity to put 20 rounds through it at the range. I appreciate the feel of it and would like to make the right modifications to make it efficient & increase it's accuracy. After digging through multiple forums and sites I have become more confused about what modifications can actually do that. So my question, is there a forum or thread designed for beginners that gives a starting point or suggestions on where to start making modifications?

Thank you for any links or advice,

#1. Welcome to the forums!

#2. Nice choice of rifle!

#3. Please, be more specific about what kind of accuracy you're achieving, and how much accuracy you're wanting to get.

#4. Also be more specific with regard to how you want to make your rifle more efficient.

You have a very accurate format to start with. Like a fixer home, you have good bones to work with. You shouldn't have to change much to sqeeze a little more out of it.