• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Faxon Big Gunner or BA Modern? Helping a Friend Decide

COBrien

I've got a friend who's asked me to help him assemble his first .308 AR. Wanting, essentially, an exact replica of the rifle I built for my wife, but in .308.

While I ran a Criterion Hybrid in the wife's 5.56 rifle, he's not looking to spend that kind of money.

I'd recommended the Faxon Big Gunner 16" mid-gas to him. Then he found the BA Modern Series 16" mid-gas.

I know the Faxon barrels are, to some extent, "darlings" around here.

The BA can be had for ~$40 less than the Faxon, but it's about 5 oz. heavier (not trying to go ultra-light, but obviously the lighter, the better). And I have zero experience with BA.

Which of these two barrels would y'all gurus recommend, as far as accuracy, stringing, and general impressions of quality? TIA, fellas!

I would feel comfortable with either. I have decided between BA and Faxon twice on different builds and used one of each, no regrets with either of the barrels. I've built rifles for others that used Criterion and was super impressed with them, fit and finish plus accuracy. But given your choice I'd save the $40 and get the BA.

My LGS told me last week that Aero was buying up the rest of BA "soon". I cannot confirm anything on this with google searches but he is usually dead on. If true, and given both BA and Aero's aggressive marketing there very well might be some good sales to come. ?

1 hour ago, Ravenworks said:

I would tell your freind to reconsider the Criterion and a good trigger and to save money elsewhere.

When people come to me and want good but cheap,I tell them to look elsewhere.