• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Building my first 308

308USK

Greetings all,
     Moving the conversation of my first build over to this section, to keep the discussion in-line with where it should take place!

I've been shooting for 50+ years; qualified rifle in the military (M-14, then M-16) as well as pistol (19110 & shotgun (Remington 870).  Currently have a few rifles in my arsenal (M4 5.56, Lever Action 30-30, Remington 700 [.308]), but not a AR/LR platform in .308.  

I have been pondering a build for quite a while, and finally started the procurement of items last weekend.  I'm sure there will be hiccups along the way, but the main goal is to make a "DMR" rifle.  If I'm missing anything or any suggestions on items that may be a better fit, feel free to chime in (I'm no snowflake!  LMAO):

image.thumb.png.9a0fda2b6abbad9a8e73accc29214648.png

- -
308USK

Still awaiting a few parts, mainly the upper/lower that were supposedly 'in-stock' when I ordered, only to find out that the vendor had incoming stock. "Should" be in within the next few days then shipped out to me.

Here's the latest BOM for my build:

image.thumb.png.3d783e898bc838fd3a8783bea7fee139.png

1 hour ago, shooterrex said:

I would go with a regular spring and buffer in place of the silent captured stuff. Most people who have tried those do not have good luck getting their rifles to run till those are replaced with standard parts.

My brother has built quite a few guns with them...but we'll see how my build goes.  It's my first go-round and it's what I want to try.  I may find out it's more effective the run a standard buffer & spring!  :cool:

22 minutes ago, 308USK said:

My brother has built quite a few guns with them...but we'll see how my build goes.  It's my first go-round and it's what I want to try.  I may find out it's more effective the run a standard buffer & spring!  :cool: