• Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

VMOS without SCS

xXSteev0Xx

Hello,

New poster as well as new builder here.

Auto Technician by trade, however, still very green as far as rifle work goes.

Stringing together a aero M5 build. 

Got a M5E1 upper, Proof barrel...

Anyways most of the components may be irrelevant.

What I'm really wondering is is it possible to run a JP VMOS BCG without a SCS even if I remove the buffer retaining pin? It charges nicely without any obstructions, is headspaced correctly, and chanmbers .308 and 7.62 cartridges without any hiccups but I don't know how it would function under live fire, and don't want to test it if it posses risk of damage

I have a SCS on order, but the guys I ordered it from decided to barge ship it, and I currently live in hawaii. May be a while before I get it. Advise is appreciated, thanks

Welcome from NY.

Someone will be by shortly to give you some more advice here... This isn't something I've ever seen before. So I can only say; "glad to see you made it here to the 308ar.com forum"... This looks pretty interesting. While the weights appear to be kind of expensive; I'm actually curious about that JP VMOS BCG in some ways. 

All the best Sir!

So long answer is no. Short answer not always. I guess my first question is do you reload? If no, buying off the shelf, and getting whatever’s available then no, it’s not going to work. JP parts are high quality race gun parts and tuning any rifle to a tailored load will almost guarantee it won’t function properly with others.