• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Robocop1051's 14.5" Dissipator 300 AAC Blackout

Robocop1051

OK, ever since I started playing with "black rifles" I wanted to make a .30 cal AR. I have a .308 that has been WORK IN PROGRESS for over a year as I wait on some custom parts fabrication. Recently I finished an AR15 build from scratch. It was my first build up from parts, and it was my first piston build. I'll post pics of that later in a more appropriate area.

Originally I had plans to create an AR that shot the 10mm Auto. The lack of parts and magazines and the cost of 10mm became too much of a hassle for me. Next I deceided on the 7.62x39 cartridge. I was turned off by the rumors of fragile bolts, weird magazines and the lack of barrel options from credible manufacturers. I still wanted a heavy caliber battle rifle that was as reliable as an AR15, but wouldn't cost me an arm and a leg to make and shoot.

When the 300BLK came out on the market I scoffed at the idea of building a wildcat rifle, fearing the cost of ammo would never make sense of the build. The 6.8 SPC and the 6.5 Grendel were eliminated due to the cost of ammo, and of course needing new mags and bolts again.

Now the 300 BLK is becoming a mainstrain load and really taking the market by storm. I really want to see this round reach maximum popularity. It had all the features I looked for in a round. I can use standard AR15 parts and magazines, and still fling a 125gr lead weight out the end of my barrel.

I can never build anything "normal" though. I have to push some kind of boundry. So I have come up with a kind of different approach for this new project. I like to draw up my ideas a bit before I start wrenching on bolts. I'll put a build on paper 10 or more times before it actually takes off. Here is a little peek at what I am starting...

300BLK.jpg