• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

.308 noob questions...sorry in advance

6shootr

So as the title says, i am new to the .308 ar platform world.  I own a few normal ar's but nothing other then the .223 cal.  I've recently been toying with the idea of a .308 ar combat/sniper rifle.  I've done some re-search and searched on here a bit but figured i'd ask some questions.  I'm looking at a gas piston gun for the fact that i was told they are better if you intend on adding suppressors.  Although i won't be doing that anytime soon, i'd like that option open for the future.  Second is the prices of a lot of the .308 ar platform rifles especially the gas guns are through the roof right now and everyone makes their own parts that aren't interchangeable between guns.  I'm looking into building my own .308 rifle whether GAS or DI and was wondering of the general cost that i would be looking at.  I looked at the DPMS gas .308 which is around $1300 and was wondering if i could build something better/lighter with various parts or if i'm just better off buying that off the shelf.  Again i am a noob to .308 ar platform guns so if there is another thread that i missed that answers this i apologize and please direct me to it.  Thanks in advance.

• Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

1. Welcome to the site

2. All questions are welcome.

3. I own both a direct impingement and a gas piston ar308 (larue obr 20" and a 14.5"Pws mk214)

To answer the question which is better is like asking why a Chevy not a Ford. Arguments can be made for both, so I say just buy American! As far as I have heard, there is no definite reason one is better than the other, although there are many claims.