• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

another newb build

TheBearCub

Hello all. I'm new to the AR/DPMS scene and I think I'm ready to start a build. I'm familiar with guns, but not necessarily different brands and what they have to offer, or barrels coated with this, or that material and what not. I've got a budget of $2500. I'll be using the rifle for hunting, and plenty of target practice. I'm active duty, and can easily shoot expert, but I'm not sure about reaching out and touching someone at 800+ yards, although I've never tried! So a long distance sniper rifle won't exactly be my cup of tea.. I'd be ok with a non-adjustable stock, I need rails for sure, and will probably go with a 16" barrel. All help is appreciated! Thanks.

Welcome. I just assisted a member build nearly this exact rifle. You should get lots of help here.

My $0.02 is, a Mega Arms or SI Defense receiver set and hold out for the Fulton Armory 16" rifle length barrel. As long as you stick to those, everything else is just preferences.

Good luck

Thanks for the fast replies. I did a little digging, and found the SI Defense upper/lower was cheaper, although it didn’t have the ambidextrous selectors. Im not left handed, but still Id like to have that option but it’d cost me $75 that could be spent on a scope, or the barrel. Speaking of which, I read great reviews on both companies, so thank you for that. I couldn’t find the magpul car stock, but i did find the prs model. Same thing or no? Reviews on the try battlerail came back less than impressive.. so the apex will be a likely contender. 

Bear  go here       http://www.outdoorgearbarn.com/p-21534-magpul-ar15-acs-adaptable-carbine-storage-stock-mil-spec-black.aspx

they have a lot to choose from and they have good pricing.....be sure and get a milspec buffer tube if you get the milspec stock