• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

uncertainly about once fired L.C. Brass

darb

I am new to reloading. I have loaded new .40 cal brass without an issue. I do not like the looks of the few pieces of once fired L.C. brass I have primed. I was hoping someone could post a picture of theirs so I can compare. I have the Dillon swagging tool, the Lyman prep machine and hand tools. In the mean time I will surf the net. Thanks    P.S. Worst case scenario  I could load and test fire but I do not think that is a good idea at this point.    If I do, for those with a sense of humor, I will post the results, if I am capable. :banana:   and for those who do not please disregard the test firing sentence

I heard them talk about using a deburring tool to cut out the crimp on the reloaders podcast but It doesn't sound right to me. I have a RCBS swage tool for removing the crimp, used it very little so far but it worked.

What doesn't look right? pics maybe

I will post  some photos  in the Morning. I  also have the RCBS swage tool  but have not used it as I bought the dillion and used it. Do you just swage and then prime? Other than it not looking the same as the new starline I primed for the .40 I am not sure. <dontknow>

Darb you have a Dillon tool ! That is the cream of the crop !

I sound like a broken record... Please read several threads in the reloading section about case preporation. World of information there. Must trim case and Inside and Outside Champfer your Brass before loading ... If you DID NOT ,PULL the Promo's OUT and DO IT RIGHT !!

98 , SS and myself have many posts of processing brass. Read , Read ,Read !