• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

KnewB

JRoss

Hi , just joined and have a new dpms style ar308. 10 rounds fired and gas block failed. It had not functioned properly from the 2nd round fired. Thinking it was a short cycle problem from a  leaking gas block. I attached a pic of the end result after the 10 rounds I fired. It is a .936 aluminum block. I am new to the ar 308 so hoping to learn from you all here.  Waiting for replacement gas block from the company that assembled the complete upper. Any tips on installation would be fantastic.

Gas Block.JPG

• Replies 175
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum from Michigan. Sorry to hear about the failure. Did you.or a friend build it or is it a factory weapon?

Only pic I took. It is a clamp style block and the two  8-32 screws came loose and the block spread  open to a gap of about 3/4". Its a single shot charge handle action now.

Welcome from AZ!

Hard to tell from that pic. Can you post some more?

Jross     Welcome to the forum !   im sure if its a standup company they will take care of it. I was just reading a couple of days ago about why a poster didnt like aluminum gas blocks...because the gas port erodes fairly fast... yours just wasnt installed properly.. ...ive always used steel gas blocks   ....from what I can see in the pic you will need a belt strap wrench to unscrew the handguard...and you will need a  308 dpms claw to hold the upper in a vise....you should ask the install co if they used locktite on the handguard threads?  Your gastube could be bent too  ...why dont you just ship it back ?           Wash