• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Which die set? Help me decide!

Clay

Hey everybody I thought I'd check with y'all to see which die set I should go with. I will be reloading 308 WIN in my AR308 style rifle. I have around 100 cases saved that I have fired from this gun and plan on buying some bulk once fired brass as well. I'm down to the Lee pacesetter set and the RCBS AR Series Small Base set. I'm new to reloading and not sure which will best fit my need. Please help!

Thanks!

9 minutes ago, Clay said:

Haven't started yet still getting all the stuff together. Getting married soon so can't buy everything all at once 

Ha! You'd better buy everything RIGHT NOW. You won't be able to afford it after you're married.

For reloading 308AR, you've got plenty of choices. I've had great luck with the Lee standard dies, and the RCBS standard dies. Unless you have some special "match" chamber that is tighter than normal (I don't recommend that) then don't waste your money on small base dies. You don't need them. I also wouldn't recommend getting the RCBS "X" dies which supposedly eliminate the need to trim (these dies have nothing to do with MikeDaddy's pictures.:lmao:)

I cannot say this enough. If you are reloading rifle cases, GET A CASE GAUGE!!! And use it! Cheapest $20 insurance you'll ever buy.

Lol Right! Well my biggest hold up and reason why I'm interested in reloading in the first place  is because my buddies father in law is going to give us his Lyman press that he never used, but its funny how people don't get in a hurry to get rid of the stuff they aren't selling lol. To me it kind of seems like a gimmick by RCBS but thought I'd ask anyhow. And yes I have a Lyman case gauge on the way

1 minute ago, mineralman55 said:

That's some quality equipment you're assembling for reloading.

Quality equipment + good reloading technique = lots of fun.