• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Which metal mags are you using?

AMERIKINSHIP

I have Gen3 LR/SR PMAGs and I just received my first Lancer L7AWM to try out.  I have zero experience with metal mags. Which metal mags are your go to? 

My rifle is a DIY AERO M5E1 and this is the build thread

I'm looking for some steel or aluminum mags to have on hand for the future. These would mainly be to have and store, after checking function of course.

I only have one metal mag. DPMS 19-rd mag.  I've never even loaded it with ammo.  PMags and Lancers, though.  That's another story.

All my 5.56 metal mags - a grip of them.  They have all been rebuilt - new springs, MagPul followers, and MagPul floorplates. 

I use the original DPMS LR308 10,20,and 30 round on the factory LR308 and use  the GI and Springfield mags on the M1A. I also use magpul plastic mags on the LR308. Actually I think that the original DPMS mag is a 19 rounder.

98Z , is a " grip of mags" a fractional number of a bazillion or a multitude of a bazillion or just a  $hitpot full of mags.......Which I think is a large number of which, I am not sure of?

On 4/13/2018 at 10:10 PM, 98Z5V said:

I only have one metal mag. DPMS 19-rd mag.  I've never even loaded it with ammo.  PMags and Lancers, though.  That's another story.

All my 5.56 metal mags - a grip of them.  They have all been rebuilt - new springs, MagPul followers, and MagPul floorplates. 

Edited by mrmackc