• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Compensators/Muzzle Brakes

moagm316

What are the opinions of the .308 aficianados here?

I have heard great things about the SJC TItan brake. I have a Battle Comp on my AR15 and like it allot, but I am open to something different. Does anyone have experience with both the SJC Titan, and the BABC, or other brakes? I am fairly new to the .308 arena. The only comp I have ever used is the Battle Comp on my AR15. Do you all have any food for thought?

I have a Smith Enterprise brake on a Bushmaster 308 mid-length. With the MOE stock, recoil is about like a 16" .30-30, and even less since I put the A2 stock on it. The blast to the sides is impressive though, to say the least. I had my range bag a little too far forward on the table while zeroing the sights, and blew it off the table.

• 2 weeks later...

What are the opinions of the .308 aficianados here?

I have heard great things about the SJC TItan brake. I have a Battle Comp on my AR15 and like it allot, but I am open to something different. Does anyone have experience with both the SJC Titan, and the BABC, or other brakes? I am fairly new to the .308 arena. The only comp I have ever used is the Battle Comp on my AR15. Do you all have any food for thought?

The SJC is a full blown comp brake and known to be one of the best around. The large top ports on it and a few others do a lot to prevent muzzle rise where brakes with big side ports and little or no top ports do not do much to prevent muzzle rise.

Brakes with big side ports are loud to say the least.

Brakes should be designed so the bullet passes through a wall no further forward from the crown than the bullet body is long so the high pressure gases can not get around the sides of the bullet and disrupt flight. That is why the best brakes bore is only .040-.060 larger than the bullet dia.