• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

How do I....?

Hey all,

I just made my intro in the appropriate section and it resulted in come discussion about my new rifle. I figured the topic was best moved out of there to here since that's an intro section only.

Ok so my new DPMS LR308 has a fixed FSP and I am interested in taking the plain Jane smooth free floated fore end off. I am told it unscrews and can be taken down with a strap type wrench.

However the tube comes almost to (just short of touching) the front site post. How do I unscrew it and get it clear of the FSP? The goal being I want to mount a light and Bi-pod so I would need a rail fore end.

I'm no mechanic/ gunsmith so I am not exactly seeing how this works. The current tube is one piece.

Am I looking at having to drill that tube and bolting a picatinney rail to it?

Pic attached.

post-2417-136297282367_thumb.jpg

you will have to remove the front sight post first. do you have roll pin punches or straight punches? they will be a key tool in the removal of the ft sight

Hmm... I'm not liking that idea. Not being a gunsmith. I do not have those tools or any experience on the skill. Is this tricky? I mean I don't mind getting tools (of course), but how deep a hole am I digging my self?

For example... How do I get the FSP off? The muzzel device is pinned and welded (this is New Yorkistan). I'm starting to think I may have to find a plan B here.

post-2417-136297282399_thumb.jpg

Try: