• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Hello fron Texas

bigdaddy1957

I'm kind of new to shooting. I was in the Army but that was 30 years ago. Living where I did we could not easily acquire firearms of any kind. It was the country of New York, way up North. Now living in Texas I can buy all I can afford!!!!

Since I used the M16A1 in the Army that's what I know and that in my opinion is the best supported weapon in the world. This does not hold true for the .308/7.62mm version unfortunately, not yet that is. I'm sure over time companies will start making more and more parts as people find out how good the design and platform is for so many reasons. I just wish they would find a standardized size for all the parts. I see PSA has jumped into the pool, I sure hope more do. 

Right now I am in the process of buying as many quality guns & ammo as I can. In the future an AR10/XM10 rifle of some kind is on my list. I have no need for a $2000 rifle though. I do not hunt, I'm not a sniper and I am not a tacticool dude. I go to the range and expend large qualities of ammo. That's the most fun I ever had....for some reason I love it.

So what I'd like to do is watch how the platform is developing and eventually buy one or two of them. I'd rather build one from parts than buy a less expensive entry version or a more expensive high-end version, I'm more of a middle of the road guy. I don't want to buy a high-end gun only to spend a few hundred dollars on upgrades. I have no problem with parts guns, this design just screams out for them. But the M16/AR15/M4 is so standard that parts guns can be great guns. I'm hoping in time this will be so for the .308 version.

Welcome from AZ brother.