• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

AR-10/LR308 Gunsmithing?

Folks, I need two front sight bases installed and need some good guidance/recommendations.  The first barrel is a 20" Rainier AR-10 format barrel that will get a standard A2 FSB, the other is an 18" Black Hole Weaponry DPMS format unit that will get an "F" marked FSB.  Both barrels and both FSB's are .750".  Thanks in advance folks! <thumbsup>

F marked front sight bases were developed by Colt, for the M4A1 Carbine sight radius. Carbine gas port location on a 14.5" 5.56 barrel.

You don't need the F marked front sight base on a rifle with an 18" barrel, considering it's probably not a carbine gas system, and it's not a 5.56 rifle.

Edited by 98Z5V

You're absolutely correct.  However, I've been working on these two builds since the middle of 2013 and am trying to work with what I've got.  It took forever to get the barrels I needed so now I'm trying to get the FSBs mounted.  The A2 FSB is going on the 20" barrel on an older AR-10B with the carry handle charging handle.  The "F" marked FSB is going onto the 18" barrel (and yes it's a rifle length gas system) which will use a flat-top SI Defense receiver set.  I didn't think the F marked FSB would be that big a hindrance on the flat-top rifle.  If necessary I could always shorten the front sight post.  I thought the carry-handle AR-10 rig would be more critical and should get the A2 FSB.  I just need to find someone that can mount these and do the job properly.

https://www.adcofirearms.com/

Even if your barrels have been set up for the Taper pins for an A2 front sight /gas block , if you are not using the one that was fitted to that particular barrel , might have fitment or gas port alignment problems.