• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Recommend factory cartridges for Elk

guilliam

I have zero experience hunting with LMT MWS, but I'm going to give it a try this fall.

In Montana there are no restrictions on firearms or ammo, if any one here has a favorite 308 factory load I would like to hear about it.

My hunting situation would mostly be in the timber, or along the edges of parks.

In the past (mine), most meet and greets occur under 100 yards.

I do not have a good scope, so I will be using an EOTech or irons.

Thanks in advance....(photo's included so you can see the neighborhood)

guilliam

P1010015.JPG

DSCN9401.JPG

DSCN9391.JPG

P1010019.JPG

Might be worth investing in several varieties and seeing if your rifle has a favorite. Barrels from the same maker and on the same model rifle can have different results with the same ammo.

No rifles allowed for deer hunting here in Iowa but if you give some more parameters, like range, prey, and bullet weight, I'm betting you'll get some good starting points from the guys that use them.

Barnes offers loaded ammunition with their TSX projectiles (already loaded ammunition, look for Barnes VOR-TX ammo).  For the .308 Win, they offer a 150gr round and a 168gr round.  Nothing is going to walk away after you plug it with a 150 TSX projectile, but if you don't like lighter ammo, then the 168 is there to take it down.  It's gonna be the most effective round you can use, by far.  Pick up a box of each and see what your LMT likes better.

All I use for big game are the 300WSM Nosler Accubond cartridges from 150gr to 180gr with the latter being my go to. I haven't ever used my gas guns for hunting but would still feel very confident when using the Accubonds.