• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

AR10 6.5 Creedmoor tuning issues?

Perch

Built my first AR10 almost 1yr ago when I was back living in Commiefornia.   Finally got settled near Houston a few months back and went out to tune the AGB and get this rifle cycling.  As I got the last round to lock the BCG back,  i noticed spent casings ejected @ 1-2 o'clock with consistent bent mouth on the cartridge.  Seemed to be overgassed but I had just got the BCG to lock back on last round.  Rifle cycled fine, no other issue other than ejection pattern and consistently bending the mouth of the spent casing.  Its my first time tuning a gas system on any firearm so I'm a complete noob, please keep that in mind when responding lol.😵  

So the build  consists of a Jauggernaut tactical 80% lower/upper, 22" JP Supermatch barrel w/ headspaced HP bolt, JP .936 AGB, JP VMOS BCG, JP SCS w/ additional lighter/heavier springs, and a surefire socom muzzlebrake. 

So when I got home later that day and was cleaning it I noticed the AGB was slightly off-centered.  🙄  Anyway fixed that and its aligned perfectly now but wanted to get some advice on how I should go about tuning if the same problem persists.

As I'm sure you all know the VMOS BCG and the JP SCS can both be adjusted to add more/less weight to the BCG or more/less weight to the SCS, as well as change the springs to add more resistance or less.  

So my question is if I go about tuning the gas system to lock back on last round and everything is cycling, but I'm getting brass ejected @ 1-2 o'clock again and slightly bending the mouth of the cartridges, what should I turn to next?   Should I start out with the spring rate/weights on SCS first or should I adjust weight on the BCG?  Should I add more weight or less weight?  How about different springs on the SCS? More or less tension?