• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Reload COL: 308 150 gr

DustBuster

Just Curious... I bought a bunch of PMC 147 gr 308 loads, and they measure 2.792 COL.

I’m also having someone reload me a bunch of rounds... Brass trimmed to 2.005,

Does anybody else here reload and have a favorite COL for best cycling...and also, Does anybody bother with Crimping the bullets?

Im a rookie in both building the DPMS and with reloading knowledge

Dust

You don't determine COL for best cycling.  You determine powder charge and COL of reloads by finding out what the rifle shoots the most accurately.  First powder charge, then COL as long as the bullet isn't jammed into the lands.  That measurement is different for every rifle.  A properly built rifle will cycle just about anything that is adequately loaded.  Get the rifle built first, then cycling factory ammo, then start thinking of making reloads for it.  In this buying panic, finding factory loads is tough and finding all the components for reloading is even tougher.

For 150gr loads for .308 Winchester, I only use that for plinking ammo, and I only load Hornady 150gr FMJ-BT projectiles.  They have a cannelure, so I seat them to the cannulure-at-the-case-mouth, and crimp them.  I crimp everything I shoot with a Lee Factory Crimp Die - no matter what caliber I shoot, no matter if it's for a bolt gun or semi-auto.