• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Zer NooB and an ambitious first build.

SubGrub

I’m just starting out. Brand new to this world. I’m sure to screw lots up. Asking for any and all help. Or You are welcome to follow along.

Here we go. God bless the Constitution and those willing to protect it.

About (some time) ago, I decided building this rig was what I needed to do in life. I was not in a hurry. The knowledge and capabilities gained was most of the motivation. The firearm is secondary- but I want it to be remarkable. Something worthy of its own line item in my will and testament. 

When I made up my mind to do this, I knew no difference between AR10/AR308/DPMS/gen 2 and I’m probably still getting it all sorted.

I should have started reading this forum months ago.

The beginning (where Im at now)- I’ve got an matched upper/lower set plus a hand guard from Live Free Armory. And also, central to the build I envisioned a BSFIII Franklin binary trigger. That’s it, that and some pin punches. (No tools yet)

The path and all the components I will end up getting is known only by God. I’m still learning component compatibility. My end goal I had in mind was an amalgamation of a “show-piece” / WROL (durability and longevity) / target and precision shoot learning item

Next on the grocery list was the barrel and bolt. I think a big/barrel match is a good idea. This decision for me is huge. It’s big money. I wanted 18”, fluted, not stainless steel. (Mostly because for looks) Something about Faxon made me feel good. But I just read a rant from a hot shot on here crapping on the company and it’s comprised standards. That’s when I decided to just blog the whole process on here before I even buy another part.