• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

What to do What to do..........

Magwa

First off this is a great site and everyone has been super friendly so, i am going to ask for advice from those who know you guys....

I need a all around good battle rifle /hunting rifle gun must do double duty, so it must be light as possible and must be versatile, can take a scope and have open sights as back up . I guess i want to build/ buy a 308 AR 10 carbine or a weapon of that class i love my M4 built by myself i have somewhat but limited skills on building a rifle i would say i am a total newb when it comes to 308 AR platform so I want a carbine, light as possible accurate as possible, and must have front and real open sights...

so should I attempt to build and what would said rifle cost to build(ballpark) or should i just buy a AR 10 carbine and if so which platform new or old . I understand the difference between the A's and B's and really it does not matter to me as i will have enough of either magazines whichever i get so in closing I need some sound advice... the cost of buying a complete rifle is very appealing yet I know you can always build alot better but i am not sure i need that much better than a factory rifle for my needs... thanks much Mike

Hi Magwa !    Two words...    build it !

Im a mega ma 10 guy....all of my rifles shoot sub moa and come in not too heavy, so get yourself a Rainier arms

select 16" barrel or an 18" and the mega upper/lower set and go to town! Ive got two 18 inchers and one 16 incher,and couldnt be more pleased.  <thumbsup> Wash

Build it, and you will spend $2k+ getting all the exact parts you want. You'll go overboard on parts. We all do. You will also need to buy all the 308AR specific tools and equipment needed for the build (mainly the receiver blocks and barrel wrench).