• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Sportical loose barrel

Hello everybody,

Recently bought a new Sportical .308 and had put about 50 or so rounds through it.  I installed some iron sights, using the gas block rail for the front sight and subsequently noticed that the gas block would wiggle back and forth.  At first I thought it was just not tightened down properly, but after loosening the gas block screws and pulling the gas tube out of the upper receiver, I was able to unscrew the entire barrel by hand! (it was threaded onto the barrel extension) I'm far from an expert on AR pattern rifles, but this seems to me to be highly irregular.

The way it's put together isn't something I've seen before or been able to find on the Internet.  Unlike most barrels assemblies, there is no pin and the barrel nut doesn't hold the barrel on at all.  The nut holds the barrel extension to the upper receiver, but the only thing holding the barrel to the extension are those threads on the barrel. 

I took it to my local gunsmith and he also had never seen anything like it.  He put the barrel back on and tightened it down, re-installed and aligned the gas block/ tube and checked the headspace to make sure it was still OK.  I took it back to the range and 50 rounds later it's loose again. I just don't see any way that the barrel can stay on given the lack of some sort of washer or a pin or something to keep it from unwinding every time it gets shot.

My gunsmith is more of an AK/ FAL type of guy (though he does work on AR pattern rifles, but he's kind of an "arteeest", says he likes to do more "challenging" builds)... so I wanted to put it in front of the experts on AR .308 rifles.  Is this something you guys have seen before? Is this type of assembly flawed or is there a fix?  Any assistance is much appreciated.