• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

MilSurp Ammo Expectations

Doodle

Wondering what kind of performance people get or expect out of milsurp .308 ammo.  I am relatively new to rifles (shotgun bird hunter here), but got the rifle bug from some buddies a couple years ago.  Well, I'm finally getting around to some more range time.  Have a DPMS Recon, old model (not GenII), that has a 16" barrel with a Redfield 3x9x42 in a Burris PEPR mount.  Got the scope almost dialed in shooting several 5-shot groups at 100 yards off a bench with bags.  There are about 200 rounds through the gun, first 100 rounds were with the MagPul sights that came on the gun, then I've moved the scope around a few times.

The attached pic is one of my better groups yesterday out of several targets, some would have a flier out of the five shots (my overly caffeinated fault).  Note that the squares are a little bigger than 1", I think they are 1 MOA.   Ammo is Hirtenberger (Austria).

Question:  is this what I can expect as the best with this ammo?  

I'm pretty sure that I am the limiting factor still with respect to accuracy, but was wondering how much better it might get.  

I also have milsurp from Greece, Turkey, PMC, and PPU plastic battle packs.  These are all 147 to 150 gr.   

Should I get some 'match' ammo to compare?  Is it really that much better?  

Thanks for any insight and recommendations.

target1.jpeg

I had a Battlepack of Hirtenberger, I think it was berdan primer and it all went bang. Also had a couple of battle packs of Turkish PPU which had a half dozen duds (non firing primers strikes). The DesertStorm battle packs from 1992 are pretty good, go bang and are accurate. If you can find that one get it !