• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New from the Mitten!

ColinGSeries

Hi everyone! My name is Colin, and I am new to the AR family from Metro Detroit, MI. I'm a long time gun owner who currently has a Ruger 1911 Target, Cajunized CZ SP-01 Tac, and a Mosin Nagant. I've always wanted to build an AR, and finally got the train rolling after purchasing a stripped, blem Stag-10 upper/lower receiver from Stag Arms, among a bunch of other parts as well. Looking forward to discussing with you guys, and I'm sure I will have a lot of questions as things advance, but I'm fairly far along in my build already. So far I have in my possession or on order:

Stag-10 Blem Upper/Lower with Stag-10 UPK and LPK

Stag-10 Carbine Buffer and Tube, with a carbine shoulder stock I'm sourcing from a buddy who was 82nd Airborne

Toolcraft NiB complete BCG

Ballistic Advantage 18" .308 Stainless Barrel w/ rifle-length gas porting on a .750 journal

SLR Rifleworks clamp-on Sentry 7 adjustable gas block and an Odin Works rifle-length gas tube

RTB ambi saftey selector because I'm a lefty

Some thoughts on what I have pulled together so far would be appreciated, along with advice regarding the parts I have left to source (handguard, flip sights for now, muzzle device, and probably a foregrip of some kind) would be greatly appreciated. I already know about the difference between DPMS (which the Stag receivers are aside from the AR-10 style cut line between the upper and lower) and AR-10 pattern, but was hoping for the sort of tribal knowledge you can only get on forums like these.