• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Hello! I'm brand new to the AR10

Comrade_Cthulhu

I'm familiar with the AR15, but now I'm in the market for a 7.62x51 NATO rifle. I decided on the AR10, since it's already in use by NATO forces as the Knight's Armament M110. I'm just building my first AR10 now. I've just purchased a PA10 stripped lower, and a DPMS low profile upper. Found this forum while I was searching for parts that would work on building mine, and figured I'd join to get help and advice. I already know about the proprietary lower parts on the PA10, such as the bolt catch, mag release, and retaining/detent pins. Guess I'll be asking a lot of questions around here, so I don't end up with a ton of expensive parts laying around that I can't use.

9 minutes ago, Comrade_Cthulhu said:

I've just purchased a PA10 stripped lower, and a DPMS low profile upper.

Those two major components of the gun system might have great difficulty working together.  Let's see what happens.

Welcome aboard. 

Just now, 98Z5V said:

Those two major components of the gun system might have great difficulty working together.  Let's see what happens.

Welcome aboard. 

From what I could find online, the new PA10 gen 3 upper is a DPMS low profile pattern. I'll test fit them as soon as the upper arrives, and my FFL gets my lower in.

3 minutes ago, Comrade_Cthulhu said:

From what I could find online, the new PA10 gen 3 upper is a DPMS low profile pattern. I'll test fit them as soon as the upper arrives, and my FFL gets my lower in.

That's just for rail-height - the only reason they give that information.  To select a rail.  That doesn't mean it'll pin to your lower.