• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

THE BEST BULLET FOR DEER

Poacher

This the first year that I will use my Rock River Predator. I have killed deer into the next zip code with my 25/06 but I have handed it down to my son what I am trying to find is a bullet that I can load that will have expansion at long ranges (600) as well as 50 yards. I don't want to hear about shot placement I am not a rookie shooter, but I don't have experience with the 308 any ideas

165gr Sierra game king

Great place to start. You have a one in ten barrel twist, which it should match up with nicely,and the Game King is right up there in ballistic coefficient for long distance work. I have been using a 165 Grain Sierra BTHP for deer since 1980. Never had to use a second shot. But that was for whitetail, sounds like you may be after Muleys.

PS. Rumor has it that Barnes is making a new 125gr for the 300Blk. It's supposed to rival the 110gr that won everyone's heart last year

I think they are already making it. The Barnes 110gr Vor-TX in 300 AAC with black tipped Tac-TX projectiles. One LGS had them at $30.99 and I bought up all 5 (other places had it at $32-$35/box) just to see how they do accuracy-wise, and also get more factory 300 AAC brass for reloads later on. The LGS has since raised the price to $32.99. Considering that other LGS's want $39.99 for Remington Premier Match 125gr OTM, I thought the price was reasonable.

[EDIT - Silly me, I misread Robo's post]

300-AAC-Blackout-VOR-TX-Box.jpg

Actual bullet load:

http://www.barnesbullets.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/02/300-AAC-Blackout-110gr-TAC-TX.pdf

Range report upcoming... perhaps at the next Marana shoot.

Edited by shibiwan

^^^  They've got a whole shelf of that stuff at Cabela's.  Man up and drive to the West Side...  <lmao>