• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New here - total novice

ar-mountaineer

Hello all, I’ve found this forum when I was researching my AR10 build. I lack considerable knowledge with building guns but my father in law has built many many AR15s. I have a 15 that was built by him. He will be teaching me all I need to know about actually milling out the 80% lower and assembling it all for the AR10. My wife and I have recently built a house out on the family farm. My current gun of choice for deer hunting is a 308 and is part of the reason why I want to build this AR10. Like I said, my father in law will help me physically build this thing but it is up to me to source all the components. He said that he doesn’t want to be to blame for it not fitting together like the AR15. He’s only half joking I hope. I have found out that the ar10 is not as easy to piece together. I very recently purchased a DPMS 80% lower and parts kit (don’t have it yet but it’s ordered). I figured I’d start with this since it will take the most work and then research some more to finish it all out. 

I know exactly what I want I just don’t know if it’s all going to work together. I know I have to stay with all dpms now, but is all dpms interchangeable between manufacturers?  

Ideally I want a 24” fluted bull barrel and rifle length buttstock. I have found the complete upper at moriarti armaments but I would really like to know if the one I found (dpms) would work with the dpms lower I’ve got coming.

I would appreciate any help you can send my way. 

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome aboard!