• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Hello from Florida

Exhail

Hello all. Brand new here and wanted to say hi. I'm a beginner to firearms, as I am not a military or law enforcement dude. I got into this as a hobby. I picked the AR10 platform for long distance competition. I don't expect to do great for a while, as I have a lot to learn. That's why I like this hobby, because to really learn to shoot takes a lot of research and practice. So, plenty of things to keep me busy. This is my newly purchased AR10.

Its the PA10 from Palmetto State Armory. It's their lightweight MOE model. I have done a few upgrades. Like a Geissele High speed match trigger. It's second stage is 14 ounces. JP industries compensator. Hogue grip. Law Tactical folding stock. Primary Arms 4-14x44 FFP optic with PA 30mm rings to match. Ozark offset iron sights. I cant give a educated review, because this is all very new to me. But I will say that what I built is a good value rifle, which was very affordable, and of decent quality.

Thank you for allowing me to be here. I am here hear to learn, and have fun.

Thanks

20190626_162955[229].jpg

34 minutes ago, Armed Eye Doc said:

Welcome from Texas!

If you are new to shooting, it might be more cost effective to get the basics down by using a 22LR instead of 308.  The fundamentals will translate to your 308.

My parents live in Texas. Plenty of places to shoot there 😃

I appreciate the shooting tip. 22LR is a lot of fun. Perhaps I should look into getting one. I recently joined a great range. It has every style of competition available. They have a 1200 yard range. I'll be taking advantage of all the courses they offer, from cc, to force on force training. They offer a long range course also. That course will be money well spent. I'll get lots of professional training there. I'm definitely looking forward to it.