• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Cycling issues -- 20" Ballistic Advantage 308 barrel, rifle length gas (high frame rate video included)

renaissanceman

I'm new to the AR10 world, and I'm having issues with cycling.  Bear with me -- there's been a progression of testing on this issue that will be covered in detail  (TLDR: skip to video (https://streamable.com/3idj1i) and comment on undergassed symptoms)

Parts in build:

-Aero upper
-20" ballistic advantage barrel, rifle length gas/0.086" port with a Kaw Valley Magnum linear comp, (no suppressor)
-Standard BCG (unbranded, from Right to Bear)
-Gorilla Machining adjustable gas block with Expo arms rifle length tube
-Expo ar10 charging handle
-PSA lower parts kit (carbine buffer tube, 2.8oz short buffer, ar10 buffer spring)
-Magpul 10 round mags
-Running wet with ALG go juice.

The bolt can be pulled back by hand and locked on an empty mag.  There's about 3/8 of an inch of travel past the stop.  The gas tube sits at the halfway point in the cam "half moon" so I don't think that is the issue here.