• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New member from Montana

Asetechrail

Hello all,

New member here from Montana. I am totally new to the AR platform as well. I have been shooting and around guns all my life, just not the AR platform. 

I found this forum while researching how to fix a problem with a rifle I just purchased. When I got the gun unpacked and thoroughly inspected I found that it was damaged. The hand guard was pushed off to one side and the gas block was way off centered. The gun was packed well and the box was completely undamaged. I’m pretty sure it left the factory that way and was not damaged in transit. How it got by any kind of QC is beyond me!

After a lot of further research I discovered that my biggest mistake was in deciding on a “budget” rifle from Palmetto State Armory. I was pretty disappointed with their QC right out of the box. I have not fired this gun yet and have already spent additional money on parts to make it right. 

Eventually I will do a post in the Palmetto section on everything I have done or will do to make this rifle function. The one I got is the PSA 20" RIFLE-LENGTH .308 1/10 NITRIDE 15" LIGHTWEIGHT M-LOK STR SSA-E RIFLE. 

I have been reading this forum page by page for a couple of days now and have a pretty good idea of what will need to be done. A new heavy buffer and spring are on the way as well as a new rifle length gas tube. I am determined to make this “budget” gun run but would have been better off going with a different manufacturer from the beginning. Live and learn!  

My screen name, Asetechrail, denotes the fact that I used to be a ASE master auto tech who got tired of turning wrenches and went to work for the railroad. I’m currently an locomotive engineer for a shortline railroad.  I will be retiring in a couple more years and am looking forward to more time for hunting and fishing!