• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New to reloading…I “think” I have everything??

MJV83

Hey guys,

Im just starting out with reloading. Finally found some primers and have them on the way. I “believe” I have everything else I need…press, dies, shell holders, lube, case prep tools, tumbler and media, primers (in the mail), powder, bullets, scale, powder dispenser, caliper and micrometer, etc (few other things that aren’t coming to mind right now). I’m just wondering if there’s anything that I might be “overlooking?” 

Basically when you guys started reloading, was there anything in particular that you said, “oh poop, I forgot all about that?” And had to place another order or run out to the store, which isn’t an option for me.

I live in NJ, so reloading supplies pretty have to come in the mail. And the last thing I want is for the primers to arrive and I find out I’m missing something…especially something important.

Any pointers would be appreciated!!

Thanks guys!!

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Lee Factory Crimp die, for whatever you're reloading. Everything that goes through a semi auto needs to be crimped, and that's the best tool out there for the job.  It's probably less than #20.  Get one coming.

Everything else on your list looks pretty complete.  Wipe out your powder measure with a dryer sheet, so there's no static in your powder measure. 

I got the Lee Ultimate 4 die set for .308. It comes with the factory crimp…I plan on only doing 308 for the time being…at least for a few months. Then plan on adding more dies to do .223 and 9mm. The .308 was my biggest concern because they are so much more expensive and I plan on shooting that the most.