• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Odd barrel end

I am pretty new to AR style rifles and as such have never taken off the flash hider of one, until now.  VERY newbie in this area.

I took the flash hider off my DPMS LR308 tonight to put on a small 5/8 -24 locking nut.  I noticed a bit of strange coating/surface at the end of the barrel.  I have always been very careful of muzzles and have been careful from following others to protect the crown.  I'll post pictures I took this evening, with flash and without.  The one with flash you can actually see down in and see the rifling.  The one without flash shows more or less what the end of the barrel looks like when you view it.  Feels rough on the end, and I don't use any corrosives on it, just Hoppe's solvent and then Kroil at times.  It was used when I got it from Cabela's, just didn't look used when I got it.. very pristine.

Is it some kind of Nitride process such as MELONITE®  or a Cerakote coating?   I am really not that familiar with either. 

post-15036-0-22532500-1409712667_thumb.j

The end using the camera flash.

post-15036-0-89367700-1409712674_thumb.j

Edited by Gibbs

It's not Cerakote.  And it's not Melonite.

It's Carbon.

This post of yours is unbelievable.  WIth your vast shooting experience, you should have known that.  Kinda falls inline with the "troll" theory here.

Edited by 98Z5V

It's not Cerakote.  And it's not Melonite.

Melonite?  <laughs>  <lmao>

Cerakote?  <lmao>  <laughs>

rofl_o_910314.gif

Dude, Gibbs. Thanks for the laughs.

P.S. almost peed myself.

P.P.S. Tom, you got trolled!

For Tom getting trolled: rofl-seizure-o.gif

Edited by shibiwan

Didn't get trolled, brother - just getting tired of this guy's bull$hit...  Wish he'd keep his word, and his last post was really 3 posts ago, like he said.  He made that on #61, but he's still here...